喬希·斯博林
Spectrum
個展
2021 年 05 月 08 日
- 2021 年 06 月 14 日
+ 加入日程
香港

尖沙咀梳士巴利道18號K11 ATELIER Victoria Dockside 807室

貝浩登(香港)很榮幸呈現駐紐約藝術家喬希·斯博林(Josh Sperling)的個展《光譜》,這是藝術家在香港的首次展覽。斯博林的實踐圍繞造型畫布,模糊了繪畫與雕塑之間的界限, 當中「曲線」及「雙重氣泡」為他兩個著名的畫布形狀。

喬希·斯博林於貝浩登(香港)個展《光譜》, 2021.
喬希·斯博林於貝浩登(香港)個展《光譜》, 2021.
喬希·斯博林於貝浩登(香港)個展《光譜》, 2021.

本次首展中,斯博林在一個展廳中的三面牆上安裝一個大型的沉浸式曲線作品,由數十「線條」組成,藝術家使用了光譜來引導其顏色上的選擇。在另一展廳裡,由「雙重氣泡」及圓形製成的圓形則浮雕懸掛在所有牆壁上,尺寸不同,均用上抽象表現主義的技術塗上了顏料。


這些「曲線」及「雙重氣泡」違反常規定義,是繪製的雕塑。為了製作這些形式混合的作品,藝術家開創了一種精細的工藝,並在畫布上發展至極致:他將畫布在精確的階梯狀膠合板支架上拉伸,呈弧形或波浪線形(曲線),又或呈兩個似乎伸展、分離的圓形(雙重氣泡)。這一形態完成後,他會使用丙烯和清漆,小心翼翼地於啞光和光澤的表面之間取得平衡。

在地性是我藝術實踐的核心……當你通過嘗試不同大小的作品,迫使觀眾退後一步或者向下凝視時,觀看作品的體驗就變得活躍起來,變成一種身體上的體驗。




— 喬希·斯博林,《Whitewaller》,2019年

這樣創作的結果充滿妙趣橫生的可能。斯博林擺脫了繪畫形式上的物理限制,利用他的「曲線」在牆上「繪畫」,僅受其物理參數的約束。至於「雙重氣泡」,他將它們與單個圓形嵌合,以形成圓形浮雕,當中的色調隨著形式的轉換而變化。「曲線」以精心規劃的方式放置在牆壁上,讓人聯想起流動的姿態。

錯覺對我來說也很重要: 底層的結構給人一種錯覺,這是神秘的… … 當曲線較幼時,它們中間只有一層;尺寸中等時,中間有兩層;而當尺寸很大時,有三層。 這個結果源於我想給作品一種自然、逼真的感覺,就像年輪一 樣層層遞進。

— 喬希·斯博林,《Abstract Room》,2019年
攝影:Andrew Douglas. 圖片由喬希·斯博林提供.

斯博林於1984年出生於紐約奧尼昂塔。他從抽象表現主義、二十世紀中期抽象派(極簡主義、色域繪畫及概念藝術)、曼菲斯集團(Memphis Group)的設計以及MTV標誌等元素中汲取靈感,重新構想繪畫,最終制定出自己的路線。


斯博林的每件作品都始於電腦上的繪圖,首先創作框架線條,然後找出可以填滿這些曲線空隙的負空間形狀。色彩是藝術家創作過程中的最後一步。斯博林總是使用手工混合的顏料,他的工作室內有數本專門用來記錄這些顏色的工作薄。



喬希·斯博林於貝浩登(香港)個展《光譜》, 2021.
喬希·斯博林於貝浩登(香港)個展《光譜》, 2021.
喬希·斯博林於貝浩登(香港)個展《光譜》, 2021.
Josh SPERLING

Born in 1984 in Oneonta, New York, USA
Lives and works in Ithaca, New York, USA

喬希·斯博林1984年生於美國紐約奧尼昂塔,目前生活和工作於伊薩卡城。

斯博林的實踐結合了多種藝術形式與設計運動千變萬化的精髓。從二十世紀中葉極簡主義的最高傳統中出發,斯博林的造型畫布還連接著在現代產品與傢具設計中所發現的形式與功能的工業性複製,並自信地跨越了兩者之間的高低界限。他的實踐開始於精心製作的膠合板,畫布伸展其上,並被賦予一系列標誌性的色彩。這些由造型畫布組合排列的形狀彼此依存,如同拼圖,有效地消解了繪畫和雕塑之間的藩籬。






More about the artist
更多在社交平台 👀
List of artworks
門廊
展廳一
展廳二

Josh SPERLING
Spectrum
solo show
May 08
- June 14, 2021
+ add to my calendar
Hong Kong

807, K11 ATELIER VICTORIA DOCKSIDE, 18 SALISBURY ROAD, TSIM SHA TSUI, HONG KONG











Perrotin Hong Kong is pleased to announce Spectrum, a solo exhibition by New York- based artist, Josh Sperling. This marks the artist’s first show in Hong Kong. Building upon and extending from formal breakthroughs, Sperling works with shaped canvases that blur the lines between painting and sculpture, amongst which are his signature “squiggles” and “double bubbles”.

View of solo exhibition 'Spectrum' at Perrotin Hong Kong, 2021.
View of solo exhibition 'Spectrum' at Perrotin Hong Kong, 2021.
View of solo exhibition 'Spectrum' at Perrotin Hong Kong, 2021.

On view in this debut exhibition is a large, immersive squiggle piece consisting of his physical “lines” on the entirety of the three walls of one gallery room, for which the artist uses the spectrum to guide his color choices. In the second gallery room, different sized tondos made of “double bubbles” and circular forms are displayed on all the walls, covered in paint applied using abstract expressionist techniques.

Defying conventional definitions, the “squiggles” and “double bubbles” are painted sculptural forms. In order to make these hybrid forms, the artist has developed a meticulous process that culminates in canvas stretched by hand over a precisely stepped plywood support in the shape of a curving or wavy line (squiggle) or two circles that seem to be stretching apart (double bubble). Once Sperling finishes a form, he applies acrylic paint and a varnish, careful in navigating between a matte and glossy surface.

Site-specificity is central to my practice...When you manipulate the scale—forcing viewers to take a step back or a gaze downward—the experience of viewing work becomes active. It becomes physical.

— Josh Sperling for Whitewaller, 2019

The result is a joyful possibility. Having freed his lines from the painting’s physical limitations, Sperling uses his “squiggles” to “draw” on the wall, constrained only by its physical parameters. In the case of the double bubbles, he fits them together with single circular forms to form tondos where the hues can shift from form to form. Placed in carefully planned configurations on the wall, the “squiggles” are sinuous, physical marks suggesting movement.

“Illusion is also very important to me: the underlying structure gives the illusion of something, it is mysterious… When the squiggles are skinnier they have one central layer, in the middle they have two and when they are very large they have three. That is a result of wanting to give the work an organic life-like feel, like the rings of a tree that grows with layers.

— Josh Sperling for Abstract Room, 2019
Photographer: Andrew Douglas. Courtesy Josh Sperling.

Born in 1984 in Oneonta, New York, Sperling has absorbed and re-imagined painting by drawing inspiration from the abstract expressionists, mid-twentieth century abstraction (minimalism, color field, and conceptual art), Memphis Group designs, and MTV logos, ultimately charting his own course.


Sperling begins every piece by drawing on the computer, first with gestural lines, then figuring out the shapes that can fill the negative space between those squiggly lines. Color is the last step in the artist's process. He always uses hand-mixed pigment, which he keeps track of in multiple encyclopedic books in his studio.

View of solo exhibition 'Spectrum' at Perrotin Hong Kong, 2021.
View of solo exhibition 'Spectrum' at Perrotin Hong Kong, 2021.
View of solo exhibition 'Spectrum' at Perrotin Hong Kong, 2021.
Josh SPERLING

Born in 1984 in Oneonta, New York, USA
Lives and works in Ithaca, New York, USA

The genesis of Josh Sperling’s work springs from kaleidoscopic distillations of multiple art forms and design movements. From the high canon of mid century minimalism, whereby Sperling’s shaped canvases emanate, to the more industrial replication of form and function found within product and furniture design, Sperling confidently straddles the line between high and low. Sperling’s process begins by meticulously stretching raw canvases over intricate plywood structures and then treating them in a signature palette of colors. These forms are then combined in a puzzle-like array with competing structures, effectively (and energetically) dissolving the barrier between painting and sculpture.



More about the artist
MORE ON SOCIAL MEDIA 👀
List of artworks
Foyer
Room 1
Room 2