格雷戈爾·希德布蘭特
Behind my back, in front of my eyes
個展
2021 年 09 月 25 日
- 2021 年 11 月 20 日
+ 加入日程
香港

尖沙咀梳士巴利道18號K11 ATELIER VICTORIA DOCKSIDE 807室


貝浩登(香港)榮幸宣布再度與德國藝術家格雷戈爾·希德布蘭特(Gregor Hildebrandt)合作,舉辦其第二次香港個展《背後· 眼前》。希德布蘭特擅長利用影音磁帶,配以重覆的處理手法,創造出為人熟悉的拼貼作品。


攝影:Ringo Cheung. 圖片提供:藝術家與貝浩登.
攝影:Ringo Cheung. 圖片提供:藝術家與貝浩登.
攝影:Ringo Cheung. 圖片提供:藝術家與貝浩登.
攝影:Ringo Cheung. 圖片提供:藝術家與貝浩登.
攝影:Ringo Cheung. 圖片提供:藝術家與貝浩登.
攝影:Ringo Cheung. 圖片提供:藝術家與貝浩登.
攝影:Ringo Cheung. 圖片提供:藝術家與貝浩登.
攝影:Ringo Cheung. 圖片提供:藝術家與貝浩登.

希德布蘭特運用承載聲音與影像的傳統錄製媒介,如卡式錄音帶、錄影帶、唱片等,創作超越其光滑、反光表面的作品。作品涵蓋畫作、雕塑和裝置等創作形式,在無聲中訴說感情,既抒情又富詩意。自1990年末,他便運用磁帶這個可替換的物料來營造沉默,既是形式上亦是隱喻上的一種沉默。這種獨特的創作皆由藝術家忽發奇想,希望將音樂與素描本融合開始。


希德布蘭特先將所選歌曲的旋律、節奏和效果記錄在空的錄音磁帶上。完成後再把該磁帶粘貼在畫布上,再把其撕掉,創作出他獨特的 rip-off 「撕去」布面畫作。


希德布蘭特透過把磁帶粘貼在畫布上,試圖將音樂視覺化。舊式的黑膠唱片,也擁有與磁帶相近的媒介特質。當它們被用作承載音頻時,均體現了一種時間性。藝術家反覆地在磁帶 上一遍又一遍地錄製他喜歡的單曲,從而激發起他腦海中的懷 舊記憶。磁帶所體現「時間性」,既是錄製歌曲的長度,也是 磁帶本身的物理長度。希德布蘭特以一種無聲的語言,鬼魅地封存了這段音樂。



記憶是層層疊疊且轉瞬即逝的。希德布蘭特將他碎片般的記憶 物化,並通過作品表達出來。展覽焦點作品《White flower pointing up (Alphaville)》,演譯了他在日本之行期間獲得的靈感。作品的 圖像源自他在富士山附近的一家當地餐館用餐時所看到的一張 餐巾。這幅以雙聯屏結構呈現的作品巧妙地利用這個圖像的陰 陽對照面,矗立在畫廊置中的門廊,作為左右兩個展廳入口的引旨。


藝術家的「撕去」的手法,通常會創造出兩幅極為相似,但相反的黑白畫作。《White flower pointing up (Alphaville)》的獨特 之處,在於在同一張畫布上結合正負兩面的效果,兩者都由同 一盒磁帶拼貼而成。這幅畫的結構強調了這次展覽的主題 ⸺-- 背後·眼前 -- 作品對稱的方式,宛如平行宇宙。磁帶上的歌 曲 《Big in Japan》由活躍於 1980 年代的德國地下合成流行樂隊 Alphaville主唱,其主題讓希德布蘭特回想起該日本之行。


我的黑色單色畫就是一首歌曲。我喜歡這樣的想法,而且歌曲確實藏在畫中。 格雷戈爾·希德布蘭特, The Brooklyn Rail


— 格雷戈爾·希德布蘭特, The Brooklyn Rail

這裏的音樂和聲音,展示了循環和迴聲磁帶如何帶動記憶的流趟, 並與藝術家有感的物料和圖案交織,在畫布上上演一場屬於他自己 的體驗。希德布蘭特從《White flower pointing up (Alphaville)》的 對稱面出發,創作一系列新的黑白「撕去」畫,並在畫廊內分隔兩 個展廳的共同牆上的各自展開,可見展覽的空間設計採用了鏡面反 射的概念。整組作品通過牆壁,以背靠背和反方向的懸掛方式連接 起來,進一步回應焦點作品中的對照概念。


與以往使用膠紙的方法不同,希德布蘭特首次以丙烯黏膠劑製作彩色的「撕去」畫。希德布蘭特把多部電影拷貝到錄影帶上, 再以錄影帶的磁帶創作這一系列彩色「撕去」畫。此系列最初 的靈感來自於他小時候玩一種叫做「秘畫」的遊戲經歷。藝術 家回想這些電影,並即興地運用不同的顏色,在畫布上揮毫他對這些電影的印象。


矗立在第一個展廳中的多彩黑膠柱子,題為《有關演員》(Sur le comédien),當中的顏色選擇源自極簡主義大師弗蘭克·斯特拉 的作品《演員的悖論》(Paradoxe sur le comédien)的構圖。希德布蘭特對模擬音視頻的熱情,驅使他進一步利用磁帶的盒子作 為結構。他用噴墨打印的方式,把活地·亞倫的《遇上陌生情人》(You Will Meet a Tall Dark Stranger) 的標誌性電影海報重新呈現在錄音磁帶盒上。此舉令電影一再 以累積和反覆的方法出現。藝術家在作品中,反複使用模擬載體中極為關鍵但卻容易被忽視的部分⸺磁帶盒 ⸺來構建電影海報,塑造海報上以波普藝術風為主的網格結構。作品透過組 裝這些過時的模擬產品,重新交疊物料和聲音的空間,並把無聲的音景混和其中。


這兩件富有建築元素的作品,與旁邊的彩色撕去畫作《Moby》(靈感來自1851年的小說及改編電影《Moby Dick》)並列,與隔壁展廳的維港海景、高樓大廈和城市裡的陌生人互相呼應。


在所有情況下,我都想為對我有重要意思的歌曲做一個紀念。 並不是說要創作一尊騎士雕像那樣矚目,而是會讓你想:這些好歌並沒有被遺忘。 我用的卡式帶都是為畫作特別錄製的,所以並存在破壞的元素。


— 格雷戈爾·希德布蘭特與Jérôme Sans對話
Gregor HILDEBRANDT

Born in 1974 in Bad Homburg, Germany
Lives and works in Berlin, Germany

更多在社交媒體👀 格雷戈爾·希德布蘭特擅長以承載聲音與影像的傳統錄製媒介,如卡式錄音帶、錄影帶、唱片等,創作超越其光滑、反光表面的作品。作品涵蓋畫作、雕塑和裝置等創作形式,在無聲中訴說感情,既抒情又富詩意。希德布蘭特的標誌性作品有獨特的 rip-off 「撕去」布面畫作。他把錄製了內容的錄音或錄影帶的磁性面利用膠紙或丙烯黏膠劑粘貼在布面上,再把其撕掉,留下磁粉自由交錯的圖樣。


希德布蘭特對磁帶的興趣不止於其在視覺上的可能性,他同樣精心挑選磁帶內的歌曲和電影。藝術家不可避免地成為作品的中心存在;它們記錄著他的音樂品味,以及他的生活經歷。觀眾會在偶然辨認出熟悉的磁帶標題時,獲得比視覺衝擊力更大的作品體驗。




More about the artist
更多在社交媒體👀
網上商店
List of artworks
門廊
展廳一
展廳二

Gregor HILDEBRANDT
Behind my back, in front of my eyes
solo show
September 25
- November 26, 2021
+ add to my calendar
Hong Kong

807, K11, ATELIER VICTORIA DOCKSIDE, 18 SALISBURY ROAD, TSIM SHA TSUI, HONG KONG

Perrotin Hong Kong is pleased to present German artist Gregor Hildebrandt’s latest exhibition Behind My Back, In Front of My Eyes, marking his second solo show in the city. Hildebrandt is known for his innovative artworks using repetition for their collage structure and magnetic tape as their medium.

Photo: Ringo Cheung. Courtesy Gregor Hildebrandt and Perrotin.
Photo: Ringo Cheung. Courtesy Gregor Hildebrandt and Perrotin.
Photo: Ringo Cheung. Courtesy Gregor Hildebrandt and Perrotin.
Photo: Ringo Cheung. Courtesy Gregor Hildebrandt and Perrotin.
Photo: Ringo Cheung. Courtesy Gregor Hildebrandt and Perrotin.
Photo: Ringo Cheung. Courtesy Gregor Hildebrandt and Perrotin.
Photo: Ringo Cheung. Courtesy Gregor Hildebrandt and Perrotin.
Photo: Ringo Cheung. Courtesy Gregor Hildebrandt and Perrotin.

Gregor Hildebrandt’s signature media are cassette tape and vinyl, which he collages and assembles into apparently minimalist yet latently romantic paintings, sculptures, and installations. Since the late 1990s, the artist has been employing the fungible material of the magnetic tape to produce silence. This silence is literal and metaphorical. It all began when he developed the idea of sticking music to his sketchbook, igniting an impulse to transform music into material form.



The artist records the melody, rhythm, and affect of selected songs on empty tapes. This done, he applies the music in its physicalized form (by cutting the magnetic tape out), on canvas surfaces, creating what he calls “rip-off paintings.”

Beginning with one canvas, the artist applies self-adhesive tape in vertical strips across the surface before painting patterns with translucent fixative. Audio and video tape strips are then applied, their magnetic coating sticking to the unfixed adhesive sections. To create a "negative" painting of the first, the remaining tape is applied to a second canvas.


Hidlebrandt seeks to visualize music by affixing it to a tangible surface. When the analog materials -- tape and vinyl record -- were the media of audio recording, they embodied temporality. By recording single songs that he likes over and over again on the tapes, Hildebrandt stimulates a reflective nostalgia for the song stirred to his memory.

Memories are plural and fleeting. Hildebrandt materializes his fragmented memory and expresses it through his works. In his statement piece, White flower pointing up (Alphaville), the inspiration came to the artist during his trip to Japan. The motif of this work was evoked by a napkin Hildebrandt saw when he was dining in a local restaurant near Mount Fuji. The diptych-structured painting, which playfully develops from a ying and yang composition of the motif, stands in the foyer of the gallery as an introduction to the entrance of each of the two rooms.



Stemming from the artist’s distinctive rip-off technique, which generally produces two similar yet opposite black-and-white paintings, White flower pointing up (Alphaville) stands out by combining in one single canvas both the negative and positive parts, both made out of the components of the same tapes. The structure of this painting emphasizes the theme of this exhibition — Behind My Back, In Front of My Eyes — the symmetric situation resonates with parallel universes, just like the painting expresses. The song on the tape, Big in Japan by Alphaville, a German underground synth-pop band active in the 1980s, is chosen as reminiscence of Hildebrandt’s visit to the country.

I like the idea that my black monochrome painting is a certain song, and that it really is in the painting.

— Gregor Hildebrandt, The Brooklyn Rail

Music and sound show how the processes of memory operate through tape loops and echoes, intersecting with the material forces and patterns that compose the artist’s own frame of experience. With White flower pointing up (Alphaville)’s symmetrical arrangement as a point of departure, the artist has created a new series of black-and-white rip-off paintings, which develops on each side of the gallery rooms’ common wall. Structuring the show in the manner of a conceptual spine, this series introduces a mirror-like situation for each of the rooms. Virtually connected through the wall by the way they hang back-to-back and in reversed directions, the group of paintings seems to extend further in the exhibition the principles at stake in the introductory painting.

The artist adopts a new technique with acrylic glue, unlike his usual use of adhesive tape, to create color rip-off paintings for the first time. The color version of the rip-off series, positioned on the walls of both rooms symmetrically, is made from the VHS tapes that Hildebrandt dubbed from various original films. The initial inspiration of the colorful series came from his experience of playing a game called “secret paintings” when he was a child (a picture applied in different colors before it is covered in black wax crayon and scraped off with a knife, so that the color background is revealed). The artist metaphorically improvises his impressions of these films with the manipulation of different colors on each painting.

Standing in the first room is a multi-color vinyl column titled Sur le comédien and its selection of colors is inspired by the composition of Frank Stella’s work Paradoxe sur le comédien. To fully utilize the analog materials, Hildebrandt makes use of cassette cases in a shelf-like installation. By rendering the pop-art-style poster of the film You Will Meet a Tall Dark Stranger by Woody Allen with inkjet printing as the graphic on a cassette shelf, the artist draws audience's attention to cassette cases, the crucial but easy-to-ignore part of analog media. With their architectural elements, together with the adjacent color rip-off painting Moby (recalling the 1851 novel and the film adaptation in the 1950s), the installations mirror the iconic harbor view, skyscrapers and strangers in the city that the gallery overlooks.

In all cases, I would like to make a memorial to different songs that are important to me. Not like an equestrian statue, but rather only that one thinks about it: that these good songs are not forgotten. The cassettes that I use are all specially recorded for this painting, so they are actually not destroyed.

— Gregor Hildebrandt in conversation with Jérôme Sans
Gregor HILDEBRANDT

Born in 1974 in Bad Homburg, Germany
Lives and works in Berlin, Germany

Gregor Hildebrandt’s signature media are cassette tape and vinyl, which he collages and assembles into apparently minimalist yet latently romantic paintings, sculptures, and installations. Resting in silence behind the glossy surface of his analog aesthetics, which verges on black and white monochrome, music and cinema haunt his practice. Whether pictorial or sculptural, all of his works contain prerecorded materials, which he references in the titles. These pop-cultural sources, usually a single song, are meant to trigger both collective and personal memories. Like analog storage media, his distinctive rip-off technique is a metaphor for the mnestic process itself: it consists in rubbing magnetic coating against double-sided adhesive tape stuck on canvas to trace intricate and elusive powdery patterns. Further relating to architectural Gesamtkunstwerk, Hildebrandt’s monumental sonic barriers made of stacked, bowl-shaped records and his sensual wall curtains made of unreeled tapes create paths for the visitors of his shows.



More about the artist
MORE ON SOCIAL MEDIA 👀
SHOP
List of artworks
Foyer
Room 1
Room 2