Finger Bang
Henni ALFTAN, Trevor BAIRD, Genesis BELANGER, Chris BOGIA, GELITIN, Elizabeth GLAESSNER, Vivian GREVEN, Ivy HALDEMAN, Sharon MADANES, Nikki MALOOF, Jesse MOCKRIN, Danielle ORCHARD, GaHee PARK, Veronika PAUSOVA, Christina QUARLES, Sarah SLAPPEY, Emily Mae SMITH, Michael STAMM, Jessica STOLLER, Young-jun TAK, Robin F. WILLIAMS, Mark YANG
group show
03
- 24 septembre 2022
+ ajouter à mon calendrier
Paris
76 rue de Turenne
75003 Paris France

Organisée par la sculptrice Genesis Belanger et la peintre GaHee Park, Finger Bang présente le travail de 22 artistes vivants qui représentent des doigts et des mains à des fins et des effets divers. Les résultats sont très variés mais s’accordent sur une chose : la main reste un domaine qui mérite toujours d’être exploité pour ses significations psychologiques, sexuelles, et politiques. Une grande partie des oeuvres de l’exposition est d’inspiration surréaliste et, en accord avec ça, l’imagerie corporelle est omniprésente. Des doigts et des mains apparaissent là où ils ne devraient pas être, souvent coupés ou séparés du corps dont ils proviennent.

Vue de l'exposition "Finger Bang" à la galerie Perrotin, Paris, 2022. Photo: Claire Dorn. Courtesy of all artists and Perrotin.
Vue de l'exposition "Finger Bang" à la galerie Perrotin, Paris, 2022. Photo: Claire Dorn. Courtesy of all artists and Perrotin.
Vue de l'exposition "Finger Bang" à la galerie Perrotin, Paris, 2022. Photo: Claire Dorn. Courtesy of all artists and Perrotin.
Vue de l'exposition "Finger Bang" à la galerie Perrotin, Paris, 2022. Photo: Claire Dorn. Courtesy of all artists and Perrotin.
Vue de l'exposition "Finger Bang" à la galerie Perrotin, Paris, 2022. Photo: Claire Dorn. Courtesy of all artists and Perrotin.
Vue de l'exposition "Finger Bang" à la galerie Perrotin, Paris, 2022. Photo: Claire Dorn. Courtesy of all artists and Perrotin.

L’histoire de l’art regorge de mains. Pensez au Christ pantocrator, présidant quelque dôme en ruine couvert de fresques avec son signe de paix qu’il dresse comme un drapeau en berne. Regardez les saints et leurs outils – une clé, une ancre, un plateau de seins… Les mains étaient l’épicentre de l’identité, un bottin mondain. Imaginez maintenant La Création d’Adam de Michel- Ange à la chapelle Sixtine ; un peu mou du poignet, Adam reçoit l’étincelle de vie de Dieu. Des mains qui donnent, des mains qui prennent. L’art, dont les fonctions religieuses et didactiques sont désormais obsolètes, est plus manuel que jamais.


Une interprétation courante des corps démembrés et déformés qui parsèment les grandes oeuvres du surréalisme classique consiste à dire que cette imagerie a été créée en réaction aux horreurs de la Première Guerre mondiale. Une vision plus freudienne de ce phénomène diagnostique une impulsion latente vers la violence (souvent dirigée contre les femmes). Si certaines oeuvres de Finger Bang traitent effectivement de traumatismes comparables, la façon dont elles abordent le corps est le produit d’impulsions et de comportements beaucoup plus contemporains : elles ont grandi avec le copier-coller, elles déploient des échantillonnages postmodernes et baignent dans une décontextualisation radicale. Très souvent, l’effet produit est un humour noir, suscitant rire complice autant que malaise.


Dans toutes les oeuvres présentées ici, le corps revient sans cesse – fragmenté et indiscipliné, une chose qu’il faut surveiller de peur qu’elle ne commence à sévir ou à se déchaîner. De nombreux artistes sont aux prises avec la chair dans un monde de plus en plus hostile à l’idée d’avoir un corps qui soit vraiment le sien – autonome, désirant, expressif. De cette manière, Finger Bang saisit notre moment contemporain..

Les curatrices

Genesis Belanger (née en 1978) et GaHee Park (née en 1985) se sont rencontrés au programme MFA du Hunter College à New York dans les années 2010, où chacune se souvient avoir découvert et admiré le travail de l’autre avant de nouer une grande amitié née de la synergie qu’elles ont ressentie entre ce qu’elles faisaient – et continuent de faire. Belanger et Park vivent et travaillent respectivement à Brooklyn et Montréal.



Genesis BELANGER

Née en 1978 en USA
Habite et travaille à Brooklyn, New York, USA

Le travail de Genesis Belanger se caractérise par le traitement des objets comme substituts du corps. Sculptés en porcelaine et en béton et teintés de couleurs fondantes, les objets du quotidien prennent des traits humains, rendus inconfortablement familiers lorsqu'ils commencent à nous ressembler. Les natures mortes de Belanger — compositions de meubles, de fruits et de fleurs couvertes de signes et de symboles — sont de plus en plus contextualisées par leur environnement, des espaces psychologiquement chargés, créés par l'artiste. L'effet est inquiétant, faisant la distinction entre le confort et l'inquiétude, le beau et l'étrange.

En 2019, Belanger a créé une installation dans la vitrine du New Museum, à New York. En mai 2020, le Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum à Ridgefield, Connecticut, présentera sa première exposition personnelle dans un grand musée américain. En 2021, Genesis Belanger fait l'objet d'une exposition personnelle au Consortium à Dijon.



À propos de l'artiste
GaHee PARK

Née en 1985 à Seoul, Corée du Sud
Habite et travaille à Montreal, Canada

Si le style naïf des peintures de l’artiste GaHee Park rappelle des peintres comme Henri Rousseau, le sujet de ses compositions est loin d’être simpliste. Chacune de ses toiles est le support de récits simultanés, dépeignant souvent des scènes romantiques où l’idylle semble avoir tourné au vinaigre ou des actes sexuels en contradiction avec leur cadre pittoresque. Les sujets de nature morte préférés de l’histoire de l’art — fruits pourris, fromages et bouteilles — semblent être sur le point de rouler sur la surface de la table sur laquelle ils sont posés tant celle-ci est inclinée. L’approche de la perspective dans les oeuvres de Park est forcée. Et pourtant, l’espace ne semble pas reculer, annulé par une espèce de planéité que seul un savant mélange de texture et motif peut produire. Toute indication de l'espace vient grâce à un élément encadré qui semble reproduire la scène, mais avec quelques légères modifications comme un jeu des différences. Une fenêtre ? Un miroir ? Une autre peinture ? Park se délecte de ces ambiguïtés.



À propos de l'artiste
MORE ON SOCIAL MEDIA 👀
SELECTED PRESS
Liste des oeuvres
ROOM 1 SAINT-CLAUDE
ROOM 2 SAINT-CLAUDE
ROOM 3 SAINT-CLAUDE
ROOM 4 SAINT-CLAUDE

Finger Bang
Henni ALFTAN, Trevor BAIRD, Genesis BELANGER, Chris BOGIA, GELITIN, Elizabeth GLAESSNER, Vivian GREVEN, Ivy HALDEMAN, Sharon MADANES, Nikki MALOOF, Jesse MOCKRIN, Danielle ORCHARD, GaHee PARK, Veronika PAUSOVA, Christina QUARLES, Sarah SLAPPEY, Emily Mae SMITH, Michael STAMM, Jessica STOLLER, Young-jun TAK, Robin F. WILLIAMS, Mark YANG
group show
September 03
- 24, 2022
+ add to my calendar
Paris
76 rue de Turenne
75003 Paris France

Finger Bang, curated by sculptor Genesis Belanger and painter GaHee Park, surveys the work of 22 living artists who depict fingers and hands to various ends and effects. The results are wide-ranging but all can agree that the hand remains an area to be mined for psychological, sexual, and political meanings. Much of the work in the exhibition is of a surrealist bent and, in keeping with that, bodily imagery pervades. Fingers and hands appear where they shouldn’t be, often severed or separate from their host body.

View of the exhibition "Finger Bang" at Perrotin Paris, 2022. Photo: Claire Dorn. Courtesy of all artists and Perrotin.
View of the exhibition "Finger Bang" at Perrotin Paris, 2022. Photo: Claire Dorn. Courtesy of all artists and Perrotin.
View of the exhibition "Finger Bang" at Perrotin Paris, 2022. Photo: Claire Dorn. Courtesy of all artists and Perrotin.
View of the exhibition "Finger Bang" at Perrotin Paris, 2022. Photo: Claire Dorn. Courtesy of all artists and Perrotin.
View of the exhibition "Finger Bang" at Perrotin Paris, 2022. Photo: Claire Dorn. Courtesy of all artists and Perrotin.
View of the exhibition "Finger Bang" at Perrotin Paris, 2022. Photo: Claire Dorn. Courtesy of all artists and Perrotin.

The history of art is littered with hands. Think of Christ Pantocrator presiding over some crumbling frescoed dome, his peace sign at half-mast. See the saints and their implements – a key, an anchor, a platter of breasts... Hands were the locus of identity. Picture Michelangelo’s The Creation of Adam at the Sistine Chapel; Adam, a little limp in the wrist, receives the spark of life from God. Hands giving, hands taking. Art, its religious and didactic functions a thing of the past, is handsier than ever.


A popular reading of the dismembered and distorted bodies strewn about the great works of classical Surrealism is that this imagery played out as a reaction to the horrors of World War I. A more Freudian take on this diagnosed a latent impulse towards violence (often directed at women). Some of the work in Finger Bang does engage comparable traumas but the way it deals with the body is the product of much more contemporary impulses and behaviors: it grew up on cut-and-paste, it deploys Postmodern samplings and relishes in radical decontextualization. Very often the effect is darkly humorous, inciting knowing laughter and discomfort in equal measure.


Across all the work here, the body keeps cropping up – fragmented and unruly, a thing to be kept in check. Many of the artists are grappling with flesh in a world that is increasingly hostile towards having a body that is truly one’s own – autonomous, desirous, expressive. In this way, Finger Bang grasps our contemporary moment.

About the curators

Curators Genesis Belanger (b. 1978) and GaHee Park (b. 1985) briefly overlapped at Hunter College’s MFA program in the twenty-teens. Each remembers encountering, and admiring, the other’s work before eventually forming a great friendship born of the synergy they felt between what they were making then – and continue to make. Belanger and Park live and work in Brooklyn and Montreal, respectively.


Genesis BELANGER

Born in 1978 in USA
Lives and works in Brooklyn, New York, USA

Genesis Belanger stages psychologically charged mise-en-scènes composed of idiosyncratic versions of everyday objects. Working in a multitude of handcrafts — welder, ceramicist, and seamstress — Belanger conjures installations of unresolved tension on the edge of a temporal collapse. Her vocabulary is lifted from the 1950s, specifically from the dawn of American advertising, and she infuses her tableaux with a sense of lobotomized capitalist productivity, choosing liminal spaces, such hotel lobbies or office waiting rooms, as subject-matter. In Belanger's practice, the body is absent, inviting the viewer to enter as purposeful actor. In her immersive scenes, objects become surrogate for the female body: pursed lips emerge from matching stoneware lamps, fingers sprout from a bouquet, and a hot dog wiggles itself into a wedge heel. Belanger's three-dimensional work, although situated within the legacy of Claes Oldenburg and Robert Gober, is principally concerned with the manifestation of capitalist myths on a gendered psyche.

In 2021, Genesis Belanger was the subject of a solo exhibition at the Consortium in Dijon, France. In 2020, the Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum, in Ridgefield, Connecticut dedicated a solo exhibition to her work and published a catalogue on the occasion. In 2019, Belanger created an installation in the New Museum’s Storefront Window, New York.



More about the artist
GaHee PARK

Born in 1985 in Seoul, South Korea
Lives and works in Montreal, Canada

Park’s paintings may be realized in the “naive” style that recalls painters like Henri Rousseau, but her subject matter is far from it. Often depicting romantic scenes where the idyll has turned sour, the sexual acts that seem to be transpiring in her paintings are at odds with their quaint settings, where art history’s favorite still life subjects—rotund fruit, cheeses, and bottles, appear on the verge of rolling off the surface of the table: so pitched is the surface, so hyper-stylized is her take on forced perspective. And yet, space doesn’t seem to recede in Park’s paintings. It’s cancelled out by the kind of flatness only a laboring love of texture and pattern can produce. Space comes to a halt as Park revels in woodgrain and brocade. Any indication of space comes courtesy of some framed element that seems to replicate the scene, albeit with some slight modification like a game of “Spot the Difference.” A window? A mirror? Another painting? Park revels in these ambiguities as well.



More about the artist
MORE ON SOCIAL MEDIA 👀
SELECTED PRESS
List of artworks
ROOM 1 SAINT-CLAUDE
ROOM 2 SAINT-CLAUDE
ROOM 3 SAINT-CLAUDE
ROOM 4 SAINT-CLAUDE