Hernan BAS
Creature Comforts
solo show
17 octobre
- 19 décembre 2020
+ ajouter à mon calendrier
PARIS

76 rue de Turenne










Perrotin présente au public Creature Comforts, la cinquième exposition que la galerie consacre au peintre américain Hernan Bas, dans laquelle figurent treize nouveaux tableaux créés par l’artiste depuis le mois de mars dans son studio de Miami.

Vue de l'exposition Creature Comforts, Perrotin Paris. Photo : ©Claire Dorn
Vue de l'exposition Creature Comforts, Perrotin Paris. Photo : ©Claire Dorn
Vue de l'exposition Creature Comforts, Perrotin Paris. Photo : ©Claire Dorn
Vue de l'exposition Creature Comforts, Perrotin Paris. Photo : ©Claire Dorn

Un sentiment de tension poétique imprègne les travaux de Bas, réalisés à différentes échelles, de formats plus grands que nature à des dimensions intimistes, reflétant la vaste palette d’émotions éprouvées par leurs protagonistes. Figures récurrentes de l’univers fastueux assumé de l’artiste, de jeunes hommes adultes peuplent des mises en scène presque surréalistes, empreintes des vestiges d’une angoisse adolescente et d’une fragilité face à la masculinité imminente. Ces dandys blasés à la rémanence et la délicatesse invariables exécutent avec prudence des actes extravagants : ils flirtent avec le danger, valsent avec la mort et se drapent dans la douleur.

Vue du studio ©Silvia Ros. Courtesy of the artist and Perrotin

It's not the beginning of the play and it's not the end. It's literally that intermission where you walk out, take a breath and say let me think about that for a minute before I go finish this.



— Hernan Bas (pour le magazine Garage)
Hernan BAS
Dinner hour at the little shop of horrors, 2020
274.3 × 213.4 cm | 9 × 7 ft
Acrylique sur toile

Élégance et morbidité se répondent dans Dinner hour at the Little Shop of Horrors, où l’on voit un jeune homme équipé de gants verts hisser la carcasse d’un animal à l’aide d’une chaîne en métal, dans une serre peuplée de plantes carnivores. L’appétit délicatement barbare des plantes est ainsi apaisé, non pas grâce à l’énorme bloc de viande, mais aux mouches attirées par l’odeur de la chair crue, qui est représentée à la manière de Chaim Soutine.

Hernan BAS
The hot seat, 2020
182.9 × 152.4 cm | 72 × 60 inch
Acrylique sur toile

Dans Hot Seat, un long serpent sus-pendu au plafond vient se lover autour du cou d’un jeune homme, dans une atmosphère sous haute tension. Baignée de tonalités rouges, la pièce contient en arrière-plan un terrarium empli de reptiles. Une lampe incandescente et la chemise assortie du jeune homme complètent cette fournaise, que Bas illumine en s’inspirant de l’Autoportrait en enfer de Munch (1903).

Hernan BAS
How best to suffer swamp life at dusk, 2020
274.3 × 213.4 cm | 9 × 7 ft
Acrylique sur toile

How Best to Suffer Swamp Life at Dusk montre un autre gentleman s’abritant derrière un voile transparent qui, retombant d’un parapluie, masque ses yeux bleus et le protège de moustiques voraces. Résistant malgré sa légèreté, le voile est déjà constellé d’insectes assoiffés du sang du jeune homme. Comme les autres sujets de l’exposition, ce personnage adopte une attitude entre inconfort et posture, assumant délibérément sa position précaire dans un duel avec des créatures naturelles.

Vue du studio ©Silvia Ros. Courtesy of the artist and Perrotin
Hernan BAS
Emotional Support Animal (guardian angel), 2020
76.2 × 55.9 cm | 30 × 22 inch
Acrylique sur toile
Hernan BAS
Adult Security Blanket, 2020
76.2 × 55.9 cm | 30 × 22 inch
Acrylique sur toile

Peints par Hernan Bas depuis presque vingt ans, ces Ganymède, Tadzio et Elio des temps modernes incarnent aujourd’hui la transition vers la maturité, symbolisée par leurs gestes d’une abnégation et d’une générosité fatales. Ces jeunes hommes s’exposent aux risques au détriment de leur beauté, qui était jusqu’alors à la fois leur armure et leur parure. Auparavant esthètes indulgents et romantiques mélancoliques, ils sacrifient désormais leurs fluides vitaux ou leurs demeures, en tentant d’assurer le confort de créatures qu’ils chérissent courageusement.


Dans Adult Security Blanket, l’un d’entre eux orne sa tenue entièrement noire d’une pièce de tissu bleu roi portant l’inscription : « Adult security blanket. If lost return to D. Bell » (Doudou pour adulte. En cas de perte, merci de le retourner à D. Bell). Cet élément est inspiré d’une trouvaille en friperie appartenant à la collection de l’artiste depuis plus de dix ans. La boîte du doudou original, qui n’est pas représentée dans le tableau, indique : « When all seems to fail, try this ‘true companion’ for comforting consolation… » (Quand rien ne va, faites appel à ce ‘vrai compagnon’ pour vous réconforter…).


Osman Can Yerebakan

J'aime garder les peintures aussi intemporelles que possible, même dans le style des personnages qui est toujours simples : jean, t-shirt, etc. cela permet au spectateur de s'engager dans le récit qu'il choisit de lire dans l'œuvre. J'essaie de ne pas le préciser pour le spectateur; l'ambiguïté est toujours l'amie des œuvres, à l'exception des titres avec lesquels je m'amuse beaucoup.

— Hernan Bas (pour Aesthetica)
Hernan BAS

Né en 1978 à Miami, Florida, USA
Habite et travaille à Miami, Florida, and Detroit, Michigan, USA

Les peintures expressionnistes figuratives très détaillées de Hernan Bas sont ouvertement inspirées de l’esthétique décadente de la fin du XIXe siècle en art et en littérature, mais aussi du style symboliste et décoratif des Nabis. Ancrés esthétiquement dans l’iconographie du dandy androgyne, les jeunes protagonistes de ses visions oniriques sont généralement montrés seuls ou en petits groupes, dans des représentations de flânerie la plus totale. Qu’ils soient confinés dans l’intimité d’une scène de genre ou perdus dans le vertige d’un paysage romantique dense et luxuriant, ils vivent dans un monde fantasmé d’érotisme implicite et de sensualité ambiguë. Ils semblent toujours suspendus dans le temps, entre l’adolescence et l’âge adulte, et incarnent ainsi cet état intermédiaire fragile que l’artiste appelle « fag limbo » (« les limbes homo »). Au moyen d’une palette flamboyante et d’une touche raffinée, Hernan Bas revisite et réinterprète avec une maîtrise totale toutes les catégories de la peinture classique dans une perspective homoérotique en apparence mélancolique, mais souvent humoristique et pleine d’esprit.



À propos de l'artiste
RETROUVEZ-NOUS SUR LES RÉSEAUX SOCIAUX 👀
Liste des oeuvres
SALLE 1
Hernan BAS
Dinner hour at the little shop of horrors, 2020
274.3 × 213.4 cm | 9 × 7 ft
Acrylique sur toile
Hernan BAS
Emotional Support Animal (guardian angel), 2020
76.2 × 55.9 cm | 30 × 22 inch
Acrylique sur toile
Hernan BAS
Adult Security Blanket, 2020
76.2 × 55.9 cm | 30 × 22 inch
Acrylique sur toile
SALLE 2
Hernan BAS
How best to suffer swamp life at dusk, 2020
274.3 × 213.4 cm | 9 × 7 ft
Acrylique sur toile
Hernan BAS
Creature Comforts (cat city), 2020
274.3 × 213.4 cm | 9 × 7 ft
Acrylique sur toile
Hernan BAS
An aversion to arrows (Tunnel of Love), 2020
2 panneaux, total : 274.3 × 426.7 cm | 9 × 14 ft
Collage de papier de soie, acrylique et paillettes sur toile
Hernan BAS
Creature Comfort (werewolf with a lunar calendar), 2020
76.2 × 55.9 cm | 30 × 22 inch
Acrylique sur toile
SALLE 3
Hernan BAS
The hot seat, 2020
182.9 × 152.4 cm | 72 × 60 inch
Acrylique sur toile
Hernan BAS
EMO support animal, 2020
35.6 × 27.9 cm | 14 × 11 inch
Acrylique sur toile
Hernan BAS
Three Vampires, 2020
182.9 × 152.4 cm | 72 × 60 inch
Acrylique sur toile
SALLE 4
Hernan BAS
Nectar (or the hummingbird enthusiast), 2020
182.9 × 152.4 cm | 6 × 5 ft
Acrylique sur toile
Hernan BAS
Hot Seat (#2), 2020
76.2 × 55.8 cm | 30 × 21 15/16 inch
Acrylique sur toile
Hernan BAS
When the days ahead are not so clear (emotional support fish), 2020
35.6 × 27.9 cm | 14 × 11 inch
Acrylique sur toile

Hernan BAS
Creature Comforts
solo show
October 17, 2020
- January 30, 2021
+ add to my calendar
PARIS

76 rue de Turenne













Perrotin welcomes visitors to Creature Comforts, the gallery’s fifth exhibition with American painter Hernan Bas, featuring thirteen new paintings the artist has created since March at his Miami studio.

View of the exhibition Creature Comforts at Perrotin Paris. Photo : ©Claire Dorn
View of the exhibition Creature Comforts at Perrotin Paris. Photo : ©Claire Dorn
View of the exhibition Creature Comforts at Perrotin Paris. Photo : ©Claire Dorn
View of the exhibition Creature Comforts at Perrotin Paris. Photo : ©Claire Dorn

A sense of poetic tension prevails the works Bas painted in various scales that range from larger-than-life to intimate, reflecting the broad palette of sentiments experienced by his paintings’ protagonists. A signature in the artist’s unabashedly gilded universe, a suit of young adult men populate borderline surreal mises en scène with angst remnant from teen-age years and fragility towards the impending manhood. Equally persistent and delicate, blasé twinks gingerly execute flamboyant acts—they flirt with danger, waltz with death, and huddle with pain.

Studio views ©Silvia Ros. Courtesy of the artist and Perrotin

It's not the beginning of the play and it's not the end. It's literally that intermission where you walk out, take a breath and say let me think about that for a minute before I go finish this.



— Hernan Bas (for Garage magazine)
Hernan BAS
Dinner hour at the little shop of horrors, 2020
274.3 × 213.4 cm | 9 × 7 ft
Acrylic on linen

Elegance and demise are balanced in Dinner hour at the Little Shop of Horrors, in which a boy’s green gloves grasp a metal chain elevating an animal carcass inside a nursery for carnivorous plants. He satisfies the demurely barbarian plants’ hunger for flesh, not with the enormous slab of meat, but with flies tempted by the smell of the raw cut, depicted here à la Chaim Soutine.

Hernan BAS
The hot seat, 2020
182.9 × 152.4 cm | 72 × 60 inch
Acrylic on linen

In Hot Seat, stakes for risk are high, as well as the length of a serpent draping from the ceiling and nestle around a boy’s neck. A scarlet shade of red washes the room where a terrarium with a host of reptiles occupies the background. A scorching lamp and the boy’s matching-colored shirt complete the inferno Bas illuminates with inspiration from Munch’s Self-Portrait in Hell (1903).

Hernan BAS
How best to suffer swamp life at dusk, 2020
274.3 × 213.4 cm | 9 × 7 ft
Acrylic on linen

A young gentleman seeks shelter behind a sheer veil in How Best to Suffer Swamp Life at Dusk, masking his blue eyes under a ghostly net shrouding over an umbrella against greedy mosquitos. Sheer yet resilient, the veil is already dotted with bugs unable to devour the boy for his blood. Similar to the exhibition’s other subjects, the boy is positioned between discomfort and posture, willfully assuming a pre-carious position in a duello with natural critters.

Studio views ©Silvia Ros. Courtesy of the artist and Perrotin
Hernan BAS
Emotional Support Animal (guardian angel), 2020
76.2 × 55.9 cm | 30 × 22 inch
Acrylic on linen
Hernan BAS
Adult Security Blanket, 2020
76.2 × 55.9 cm | 30 × 22 inch
Acrylic on linen

After nearly two decades since Bas started painting them, the boys—modern day Ganymede’s, Tadzio’s and Elio’s—signal passage into maturity, reflected in their selfless and fatally generous gestures. These young men embrace risks at the expense of their beauty, which has been both their armor and ornament. Once indulgent aesthetes and wistful romantics, they, now, sacrifice their vital fluids or forego their dwellings in attempts to accommodate comforts of creatures they daringly hold dear.


In Adult Security Blanket, one fashions his all-black attire with a royal blue blanket, emblazoned with: “Adult security blanket. If lost return to D. Bell,” based on a thrift store find in Bas’s collection for over a decade. The box of the original blanket, which is not depicted in the painting, reads: “When all seems to fail, try this ‘true companion’ for comforting consolation…”


Osman Can Yerebakan

I like to keep the paintings as timeless as possible, even in the styling of the figures always simple, jeans, t-shirt, etc. allows the viewer to engage with whatever narrative they choose to read into the work. I try not to spell it out for the viewer; ambiguity is always a friend to the works, with the exception of the titles which I have a good deal of fun with.



— Hernan Bas (for Aesthetica)
Hernan BAS

Born in 1978 in Miami, Florida, USA
Lives and works in Miami, Florida, and Detroit, Michigan, USA

Hernan Bas’s expressionist and highly detailed figurative paintings are openly inspired by late-nineteenth-century decadent art and literature, as well as the concurrent symbolist and decorative style of the French group Les Nabis. Though aesthetically grounded in the iconography of the male androgynous dandy, the young protagonists of his oneiric visions are usually portrayed alone or in small groups, in attitudes of pure flânerie. Whether confined to the intimacy of a genre scene or lost in the vertigo of a dense, lush, romantic landscape, they inhabit a fantasized world of implicit eroticism and ambiguous sensuality. Always appearing as if suspended in time, between adolescence and adulthood, they embody a fragile in-between state that the artist refers to as “fag limbo.” With a flamboyant palette and a refined touch, Bas revisits and reinterprets, in masterly fashion, the various categories of classical painting from a homoerotic perspective that is seemingly melancholic yet often humorous and witty.



More about the artist
MORE ON SOCIAL MEDIA 👀
List of artworks
ROOM 1
Hernan BAS
Dinner hour at the little shop of horrors, 2020
274.3 × 213.4 cm | 9 × 7 ft
Acrylic on linen
Hernan BAS
Emotional Support Animal (guardian angel), 2020
76.2 × 55.9 cm | 30 × 22 inch
Acrylic on linen
Hernan BAS
Adult Security Blanket, 2020
76.2 × 55.9 cm | 30 × 22 inch
Acrylic on linen
ROOM 2
Hernan BAS
How best to suffer swamp life at dusk, 2020
274.3 × 213.4 cm | 9 × 7 ft
Acrylic on linen
Hernan BAS
Creature Comforts (cat city), 2020
274.3 × 213.4 cm | 9 × 7 ft
Acrylic on linen
Hernan BAS
An aversion to arrows (Tunnel of Love), 2020
2 panels, overall : 274.3 × 426.7 cm | 9 × 14 ft
Acrylic tissue paper collage and glitter on linen
Hernan BAS
Creature Comfort (werewolf with a lunar calendar), 2020
76.2 × 55.9 cm | 30 × 22 inch
Acrylic on linen
ROOM 3
Hernan BAS
The hot seat, 2020
182.9 × 152.4 cm | 72 × 60 inch
Acrylic on linen
Hernan BAS
EMO support animal, 2020
35.6 × 27.9 cm | 14 × 11 inch
Acrylic on linen
Hernan BAS
Three Vampires, 2020
182.9 × 152.4 cm | 72 × 60 inch
Acrylic on linen
ROOM 4
Hernan BAS
Nectar (or the hummingbird enthusiast), 2020
182.9 × 152.4 cm | 6 × 5 ft
Acrylic on linen
Hernan BAS
Hot Seat (#2), 2020
76.2 × 55.8 cm | 30 × 21 15/16 inch
Acrylic on linen
Hernan BAS
When the days ahead are not so clear (emotional support fish), 2020
35.6 × 27.9 cm | 14 × 11 inch
Acrylic on linen