Gabriel RICO
Nature Loves to Hide
solo show
23 mai
- 14 août 2020
+ ajouter à mon calendrier
Paris

76 Rue de Turenne

La galerie Perrotin présente Nature Loves To Hide, une exposition personnelle de Gabriel Rico. Treize œuvres se déploient sur la totalité de l’espace Saint-Claude : trois installations d’envergure dialoguent avec deux installations de plus petit format fixées au mur et sept sculptures. Enfin, une équation murale comprenant une multitude d’objets recouvre l’un des murs. Ensemble, ces œuvres créent une expérience de délire et de tension dialectique.

Gabriel Rico Studio

Les formules de Gabriel Rico sont des expressions brèves et précises pour réaliser, résoudre ou obtenir quelque chose de concret. À partir d'une série de symboles et de règles, ces procédures permettent de régler des problèmes et d’exécuter des tâches. La grande différence entre les formules mathématiques et celles de Gabriel Rico réside dans le fait que les symboles de l’artiste sont des « choses », des éléments chargés de valeur par leur propre condition d’objets réels. Par conséquent, ces opérations ne consistent pas à représenter de façon symbolique ou abstraite un organisme réel, mais plutôt à synthétiser ou fusionner des choses existant d’un point de vue matériel. Le processus traditionnel de représentation est inversé en jouant avec des procédures absurdes. Au lieu de faire des abstractions de la réalité, nous partons de la physique de ces éléments pour ensuite les combiner et voir le résultat.

Par exemple, l'œuvre intitulée II – Mural présente une série d’objets communs et quelques flèches (similaires aux principes mathématiques de l’implication et de la double implication dans leur logique positionnelle) dessinées à même le mur. Le lien entre ces volumes et ces graffiti est énigmatique. Même si nous ne pouvons pas déchiffrer clairement leurs significations, ils sont néanmoins expressifs et intuitivement lisibles. Il s’agit d'un épochè husserlien dans lequel la matérialité et la force physique des « choses » se manifestent sans intermédiaire. Les symboles d’implication et de double implication sont des connecteurs logiques plus difficiles à assimiler et à associer au langage familier. Dans ce contexte, ils servent à établir des « connexions » entre les objets, mettant en relation ces produits et évoquant un certain type de valeur.

Je m'intéresse à la trace que les humains laissent dans l’histoire du monde et celle-ci se distingue par les matériaux que nous utilisons

— Gabriel Rico

Dans l'œuvre Unity & Uniformity (La Mitla de hérétiques), plus de 200 plaques en laiton découpé sont disposées sur un diamètre d’environ trois mètres dans le but de représenter des plumes d’oiseaux mésoaméricains en grandeur nature.

La structure offre un schéma régulier qui se répète et se multiplie, créant ainsi une texture visuelle parfaite. Il est intéressant de constater que, parmi ces plumes disposées sur le mur, seules deux sont celles d'oiseaux réels.

Malgré le contraste de couleur et de matière entre le métal coupé et les véritables plumes, l’effet d'opposition est presque imperceptible étant donné l’échelle de l’installation. Cette touche espiègle nous pousse à nous interroger sur le paysage puissant produit avec les plaques artificielles, et à apprécier la singularité de deux plumes composées de kératine naturelle.

Pour le nom de l'exposition j'ai choisi la citation du philosophe grec Héraclite "Nature Loves to Hide", pour sa simplicité et son élégance. Cela fait référence à un fait qui nous stupéfie continuellement lorsque nous essayons de trouver une signification quantitative dans la nature : la nature existe pour elle-même et non pour répondre à nos besoins.

— Gabriel Rico

Pour clore ces descriptions, intéressons-nous à l’une des installations de grand format intitulée Crudelitatem (I will say the romans that spread upon the world but it was the world that spread upon the romans). Cette œuvre vaste est composée de sable et de morceaux de céramiques, recouvrant le sol de l’une des salles de l’exposition. Au centre de ce paysage aride s’élève un tronc d’arbre sec en fibre de verre comprenant une seule et unique branche sur laquelle est fixé un nid d'abeilles en céramique. Avec une série d’anneaux cylindriques au rayon différent, le nid déborde de miel épais qui goutte, recouvrant ainsi de sa douceur succulente un crâne humain gisant au pied de l’arbre. Le crâne pouvant ici symboliser un homme mort d’avoir trop attendu de pouvoir manger cet aliment. Le sens énigmatique de cette fable visuelle est efficace : elle suscite le rire et l’agacement. Cette installation agit comme un conte sombre qui, au moment de son décryptage final, nous confronte à notre condition de mortels tout en nous offrant une récompense absurde et douceâtre.

Les animaux naturalisés sont des objets et si le taxidermiste a bien fait son travail, l'animal peut duper le cerveau pendant un moment. C'est comme si l'animal été revenu à la vie et c'est pour cette raison que j'inclus ces animaux dans mon travail. C'est un moyen de compléter l'illusion.

— Gabriel Rico
Dans le studio de l'artiste, à Guadalajara au Mexique. © Diego Arguëlles
Gabriel RICO

Né en 1980 à Lagos de Moreno, Mexique
Habite et travaille à Guadalajara, Mexique

Gabriel Rico vit et travaille a Guadalaraja. Il a étudié à l’Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Occidente de Guadalajara.

Son travail a été récemment présenté au travers d’expositions : au Aspen Art Museum, Aspen, USA (2019), à la Biennale de Venise à l’occasion de l’exposition de groupe May You Live in Interesting Times, Italie (2019), à l’Arizona State University Art Museum de Tempe et à la Power Station de Dallas (toutes les deux en 2017), au Gyeonggi Creation Center d’Ansan-do, Corée du Sud et à la Fundación Calosa d’Irapuato, Mexique (en 2016); au MAZ Zapopan Art Museum de Mexico, à la Korea Ceramic Foundation de Séoul, et à la Fondazione Giorgio Cini de Venise (2015); et à l’Ex-Escuela de Cristo d’Aguascalientes de Mexico (2014).

À propos de l\'artiste
Retrouvez-nous sur les réseaux sociaux 👀
Liste des oeuvres
SALLE 1
SALLE 2
SALLE 3
SALLE 4

Nature Loves to Hide
Gabriel RICO
solo show
May 23
- August 14, 2020
+ ADD TO CALENDAR
PARIS

76 Rue de Turenne









Perrotin is pleased to present Gabriel Rico’s Nature Loves to Hide. Thirteen works are installed across four gallery spaces, hosting two wall installations, seven assemblages with a strong sculptural element and a mural packed ‘‘formula’’ arranged across a vast wall. Together, these works form an experience of delirium and dialectical tension.

Gabriel RICO
To be Preserved without scandal and corruption, 2020
436 × 120 × 300 cm | 171 5/8 × 47 1/4 × 118 1/8 inch
Volcanic stone, rope, taxidermy axis deer, fiberglass column
Gabriel Rico Studio

Gabriel Rico’s formulas are brief and precise expressions to make, solve or achieve something concrete. Thus, they are processes helping to resolve problems or carry out tasks with a series of symbols and rules. The big difference between mathematical formulas and Rico’s is that our artist’s symbols are “things”; objects steeped in value for being real by their very nature. Therefore, these applications are not intended to be a symbolic or abstract representation of a real being but the synthesis or fusion of things that exist on the material plane. Here, we are reversing the traditional process of representation, experimenting with absurd procedures, then, instead of ignoring reality, taking the physical nature of these objects and combining them to see what happens.

Gabriel RICO
II Mural, from the series –Reducción objetiva orquestada (2016 - 2021)–, 2020
350 × 400 × 17 cm | 137 13/16 × 157 1/2 × 6 11/16 inch
Mixed media, brass, neon

The II – Mural piece presents a series of commonplace objects and a handful of arrows (similar to the if and only if arrows in positional logic) pictured on the white expanse of the wall. The link between these volumes and the graphite symbols is puzzling. And though we cannot clearly decipher his general codes, they are nonetheless eloquent and intuitively legible. A Husserlian épochè is at play where the material nature and physical force of “things” manifests without intervention. The symbols of if and only if are logical connectives more difficult to assimilate and connect with colloquial language. Here, they serve to make “connections” between the objects, linking these products and suggesting a certain type of value.

What draws me to certain objects is my relationship to them and the meaning they acquire when I change their context and utilize them in a new situation, a situation outside their logic of use.

— Gabriel Rico —
Gabriel RICO
II from the series –Unity & Uniformity (La Mitla des hérétiques)–, 2020
320 × 325 cm | 126 × 127 15/16 inch
Feathers, brass

We also have works such as Unity & Uniformity (La Mitla de hérétiques) where more than 200 roughly hewn brass plates are arranged in a space approximately three meters in diameter, representing the full-scale feathers of Mesoamerican birds.

The structure presents a regular pattern that repeats and multiplies over and over, thus creating a perfect visual texture. Interestingly, of these feathers arranged on the wall, only two are from real birds.

Despite the color and material contrast between the roughly hewn metal and the real feathers, the oppositional effect is almost imperceptible owing to the scale of the ensemble. This playful touch forces us to question the powerful landscape produced by the artificial sheets and appreciate the uniqueness of a pair of natural keratin feathers.

‘Nature Loves to Hide’ is a quote from the Greek philosopher Heraclitus, which I chose as the title for its simplicity and elegance. It references a fact that continually stuns us when trying to find quantitative meaning in the natural world: nature exists for itself and not for our needs.

— Gabriel Rico —
Gabriel RICO
Crudelitatem (I will say the romans that spread upon the world but it was the world that spread upon the romans), 2016/2020,
195 × 330 × 412 cm | 76 3/4 × 129 15/16 × 162 3/16 inch
Ceramic, fiberglass, sand

To conclude these descriptions, we have one of the large-scale installations entitled Crudelitatem (I will say the Romans that spread upon the world but it was the world that spread upon the Romans). This large piece is full of marble sand which covers the entire expanse of one of the gallery’s rooms. In the center of this arid landscape rises the trunk of a withered fiberglass tree with a bee’s honeycomb in traditional ceramic suspended from a single, rickety side branch. With a series of cylindrical rings with varying radii, the honeycomb overflows with abundant honey which trickles down and drips, thus bathing the human skull at the foot of the tree with succulent sweetness. It appears as though the dead man finally stopped to receive the food he had long waited for. The cryptic sense of this visual fable is effective, causing amusement and a wicked exasperation. This installation functions like a dark tale that confronts us at the denouement with our own mortality but not before offering an absurd and sickly sweet reward.

Taxidermy animals are objects and if the taxidermist did a good job, the animal can fool the brain for a moment. It’s as though the animal has been brought back to life and it is for this intention that I include these animals as part of my practice. It is a way to complete the illusion.

— Gabriel Rico —
Inside the artist’s studio in Guadalajara, Mexico. © Diego Arguëlles
Gabriel RICO

Born in 1980 in Lagos de Moreno, Mexico.
Lives and works in Guadalajara, Mexico.

Gabriel Rico lives and works in Guadalajara. He studied at the Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Occidente, Guadalajara.

Recent exhibitions have taken place at: The Aspen Art Museum, Aspen, USA (2019), The group exhibition May You Live In Interesting Times, Venice Biennial, Italy (2019), the Arizona State University Art Museum, Tempe, the Power Station, Dallas (both 2017); Gyeonggi Creation Center, Ansan-do, South Korea, Fundación Calosa, Irapuato, Mexico (both 2016); MAZ Zapopan Art Museum, Mexico, Korea Ceramic Foundation, Seoul, Fondazione Giorgio Cini, Venice (all 2015); and Ex-Escuela de Cristo, Aguascalientes, Mexico (2014).

More about the artist
list of the artworks
ROOM 1
Gabriel RICO
To be Preserved without scandal and corruption, 2020
436 × 120 × 300 cm | 171 5/8 × 47 1/4 × 118 1/8 inch
Volcanic stone, rope, taxidermy axis deer, fiberglass column
Gabriel RICO
III from the series –Unity & Uniformity (La Mitla des hérétiques)–, 2020
270 × 300 cm | 106 5/16 × 118 1/8 inch
Feathers, brass
ROOM 2
Gabriel RICO
The taste of superlative and the admirable holiness (Brick I), 2020
160 × 160 × 10.5 cm | 63 × 63 × 4 1/8 inch
Branch, gold leaf, brick, neon
Gabriel RICO
Who reckons the close of his life among the boons of the nature? (The Jealous God), 2018
75 × 190 × 340 cm | 29 1/2 × 74 13/16 × 133 7/8 inch
Coyote, petrified wood, wire, plastic hand, glass bottle, ceramic, volcanic stone, sponge, neon, mirror, brass
Gabriel RICO
II from the series –Unity & Uniformity (La Mitla des hérétiques)–, 2020
320 × 325 cm | 126 × 127 15/16 inch
Feathers, brass
Gabriel RICO
II Mural, from the series –Reducción objetiva orquestada (2016 - 2021)–, 2020
350 × 400 × 17 cm | 137 13/16 × 157 1/2 × 6 11/16 inch
Mixed media, brass, neon
Gabriel RICO
Paridad, 2019
100 × 155 × 10 cm | 39 3/8 × 61 1/16 × 3 15/16 inch
Brass, branch, brick, gold leaf, figure, feather, neon
ROOM 3
Gabriel RICO
XI from the series –Hipótesis del equilibrio local–, 2019
180 × 85 × 100 cm | 70 7/8 × 33 7/16 × 39 3/8 inch
Marble, brass, can, gold leaf, knife, neon
Gabriel RICO
IV from the series –Let not the judge meet the cause halfway–, 2018
115 × 115 cm | 45 1/4 × 45 1/4 inch
Branch, metal, brass, neon
Gabriel RICO
VI from the series –Let not the judge meet the cause halfway–, 2019
245 × 302 × 5 cm | 96 7/16 × 118 7/8 × 1 15/16 inch
Marble, branch, steel, bone, plastic, brass, neon
Gabriel RICO
XXX from the series –More robust nature.. more robust geometry–, 2019
42 × 140 × 32 cm | 16 9/16 × 55 1/8 × 12 5/8 inch
Rock, shell, neon, branch
Gabriel RICO
Fauna V, 2019
72 × 65 × 4 cm | 28 3/8 × 25 9/16 × 1 9/16 inch
Brass, knife, feather, neon
Gabriel RICO
XIV from the series –Excessive butter–, 2019
90 × 45 × 53 cm | 35 7/16 × 17 11/16 × 20 7/8 inch
Taxidermy, balls
ROOM 4
Gabriel RICO
Crudelitatem (I will say the romans that spread upon the world but it was the world that spread upon the romans), 2016/2020,
195 × 330 × 412 cm | 76 3/4 × 129 15/16 × 162 3/16 inch
Ceramic, fiberglass, sand
MORE ON SOCIAL MEDIA
Contact